Connectivism

March 31, 2010 tinkisamy

Here is the link to my mind map. This mind map shows my various network connections.

My network connections are primarily visual and interactive.  I know that I am a visual, hands-on learner, so most of my network connections show this. I have three main networks that facilitate mylearning; graduate school at Walden University, my personal interactions, and my professional interactions.

Right now, I obtain most of my learning through my graduate studies and my personal interactions. I am not currently teaching, so I do not get the opportunity to learn new ideas for the classroom setting. I do still interact with teaching professionals and keep updated on new technology and ideas.

The best digital tools that help facilitate my learning involve my computer. If I am able to use the internet then I am able to learn. I can look up new information or clarify learning just by clicking a button. My computer also allows me to network with others, which is essential for me right now. Online learning has become my main form of networking with others. Taking online classes has broadened my abilities and my thinking. I can express my thinking, ideas, and questions so others can help facilitate my learning.

In an article by Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008), connectivism is defined. Connectivism is, “the understanding that decisions are based on rapidly altering foundations. New information is continually being acquired and the ability to draw distinctions between important and unimportant information is vital.”

All of my network connections show connectivism. My understanding is formed on the foundations that I already possess. The new information I receive and comprehend comes from one of my network connections. Then I am able to acquire the needed connections and determine what information needs to be understood and stored and what doesn’t. I use my experiences with all of my network connections to obtain new knowledge and to build on my previous knowledge. My personal interactions allow me the most leeway for obtaining knowledge. I can have interaction and not necessarily learn anything.

References:

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/index.php?title=Connectivism

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
