My Reflection of Distance Learning

December 26, 2010 tinkisamy

As I reflect on distance learning and all that I have learned, I have realized that for me this has been the most valuable course so far. My goals to become an online instructor play a large role in this realization. I was eager and ready to learn all that I could from this course so that I could be better armed for what is to come as I dive deeper into the program.

What do you think the perceptions of distance learning will be in the future (in 5–10 years; 10–20 years)?

There are many perceptions of distance learning now that will be changed over the next 5-20 years. In the next 5-10 years students will see the value in learning online in a different setting that will allow for more freedom and flexibility. Many perceptions about various learning styles will be changed by the accommodations that are being made by colleges and programs. Many programs are being designed to attract those various learners who before would not have given online learning a second thought. For those who are not self-motivated or who have a tendency to procrastinate there is the blending learning option. Blended learning combines a face-to-face atmosphere with an online environment. This can be done many ways. This article provides some information on how a blended learning environment works and how it can be done. http://www.blackboard.com/resources/k12/Bb_K12_WP_BlendedLearning.pdf   This article is full of wonderful information and a study of a district where blended learning is used successfully.

The NY times felt that online learning so important that they looked at study by Stanford Research Institute, SRI International.  http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/08/19/study-finds-that-online-education-beats-the-classroom They say that in the next 3-5 years the number of online learners could triple. This was in regard to continuing education programs. I think that this is where the biggest rise will be in the next 5-10 years. People will start seeing the value of distance education as their friends and family members start taking courses online. Seeing those people around them change and how they adapt to online learning will be the biggest change in regard to those negative perceptions.

In the next 10-20 years I think that distance learning will be the standard for many students, especially the students who are working full-time and want to pursue education. Distance learning offers students from all over the country and world to be united with the same goal, learning. Distance learning also will be used in schools, companies, and industries to further education and train employees.  

 How can you as an instructional designer be a proponent for improving societal perceptions of distance learning?

As an instructional designer and an online learner advocate it is my responsibility to inform those that I come in contact with about online learning and where we are headed in the future. I need to keep up to date on issues especially in my field. I need to be that instructional designer that can lead but not push those into the future. I will be able to change perceptions about the use of technology by showing people how we can use various tools to our advantage. Many perceptions in regard to technology involve the ease of use. People need to be aware that we have technology tools to makes things easier and not cause more work. Most people are just afraid of the unknown and that is where I can come in, demonstrate, and put their mind at ease.

 How will you be a positive force for continuous improvement in the field of distance education?

Being a positive force for distance education for me is to keep learning and keep educating those around me to the positive aspects of distance learning. As an elementary education teacher I have always known that I am never done learning. I have to keep updated on the new forms of technology, research, and opportunities for further growth.  I hope to be a positive force for distance education by becoming an online instructor in the future. I know that I already have had many people question why I am going back to school and why do I need more education. The answer to that is simple; I want to be as updated as I can, especially in the field of education. It is my passion and where I am called to be.  Now I just need those doors to open so that I can continue to reach out to others and help them purse, accomplish, and fulfill their goals.

Resources:

 Eduviews. (2009). Blended Learning Where Online and Face-to-Face Instruction Intersect for the 21st Century Teaching and Learning. Retrieved December 25, 2010 from, http://www.blackboard.com/resources/k12/Bb_K12_WP_BlendedLearning.pdf

Lohr, Steve. (2009). Study Finds that Online Education beats the Classroom. Retrieved December 25, 2010, from http://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/08/19/study-finds-that-online-education-beats-the-classroom

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  January 3, 2011 at 1:21 am

    Hi, Amy! Its been awhile since I looked at your blog. You seem to be just finishing the course I am just now starting. How did that happen!

    And…..Happy New Year!

    Liz

    • 2. tinkisamy  |  January 7, 2011 at 12:02 am

      Hey there stranger!!
      I have missed being able to share ideas with you! I am one class ahead. I had taken many research classes for my first MA in curriculum, so they counted that credit and I didn’t have to take it again!! Good for me, but also sad. I miss everyone that I was in the previous courses with. How are you??? Hope everything is going great!
      Have a happy New Year as well!

  • 3. yolanda  |  January 7, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Hi Amy! Just letting you know that I am following your blog. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts

 
