Past Project Analysis

January 13, 2011 tinkisamy

As I recall a project that I have worked on in the past I am reminded of just how unsuccessful it was. This was a professional project. I taught kindergarten at a private school for a year. This year was critical. They had gone from five grades down to one. I was the only teacher in the school. They did keep their daycare as well, but the school was being monitored and assessed for effectiveness. They wanted to rebuild the students and the program. The school was at a church, so they church had the ultimate say. I did not know what I was getting into when I accepted the position.

This is my post-mortem analysis of this project. There are many things that could have been done differently. As a teacher and not part of a design team I did not have the adequate information needed to help create an effective plan of action. As I have taken course for my Instructional Design degree I now have so many more resources and information that I feel armed to tackle many problems.

 What contributed to the project’s success or failure?

There were so many contributions to the failure. There was a lack of organization. To the best of my knowledge there was not a plan of action done. There wasn’t an analysis to determine the overall problem and a starting point.

Which parts of the PM process, if included, would have made the project more successful? Why?

There needed to be a matrix of the organization. There were so many key people who were not addressed and we not a part of the decisions and changes. There was actually very little upfront planning. The person in charge, my principal and boss was just going to change how things were done. I do not believe anything was written down and I certainly was not a part of that planning. I was left in dark and walked into a very touchy situation. I didn’t have any idea what was involved. I knew that the church had the final decision. I didn’t know the organization structure (Portny, Mantel, Meredith, Shafer, & Sutton, 2008). The structure in the school and the daycare was pretty basic, but the outside sources and stakeholders were great.

I do not think that my principal knew what was expected of him and the school. There were too many unknowns. He ended up resigning before the holidays. So the pastor and church were looking for a new director. I turned down the position when it was offered to me, and now look back and at times regret it. If I had known what I know now about planning and implementing change I think we could have been successful. The first thing I would have needed to do was to define the project. I would have created a task analysis and would have worked through the A.D.D.I.E model. Then I would have made sure that I addressed the many different stakeholders involved. There were many primary stakeholders that needed to be involved such as the church board and the pastor. They also were financially responsible. There were also the children to think about and their parents. They were paying for a private school education and needed to be involved in the process. The stakeholders needed to be prioritized. This could have been done by creating a grid for all of the stakeholders involved.  That would  have been just the beginning. We could have addressed each of the various problems one at a time and I am confident we would have been successful. 

If I was involved with this project today I would do things very differently. I am now armed with the necessities to accomplish this project. If only I had known then what I know now…..but I think these “failures” are what sharpens us and makes us want to learn more.

Resouces:

A.D.D.I.E Model retrieved January 13, 2011, from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ADDIE_Model

Portny, S. E., Mantel, S. J., Meredith, J. R., Shafer, S. M., Sutton, M. M., & Kramer, B. E. (2008). Project management: Planning, scheduling, and controlling projects. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

Thompson, R. (n.d.).  Stakeholder Analysis: winning support for your projects. Retrieved January 11, 2011, from http://www.mindtools.com/pages/article/newPPM_07.htm

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. yolanda  |  January 17, 2011 at 6:58 am

    Hi Amy,
    Wow this project seems like it was a huge mess before you even started. I think that you did a great job of doing a post mortem analysis of the situation. It is great that we can learn from our mistakes and experiences and use them to our advantage for the next project. Identifying the stakeholders is very important during the planning of a project. According to Portny et al (2008), not including stakeholders can lead to miscommunication, feelings of being snubbed, and isolation of the pm. You are liable to lose a lot of project supports when this happens.

    Portny, S. E., Mantel, S. J., Meredith, J. R., Shafer, S. M., Sutton, M. M., & Kramer, B. E. (2008). Project management: Planning, scheduling, and controlling projects. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

  • 2. Bridgett  |  April 19, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Nice weblog here! Also your site rather a lot up very fast!
    What host are you using? Can I am getting your associate link in your host?
    I wish my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts

 
